Omicron: India Removes Singapore From List Of ‘At Risk’ Nations

Singapore has been taken off from the list of “at-risk” nations, from where travellers are required to follow additional measures on arrival including post-arrival testing.

As per the reports, the current list of “at-risk” countries now comprises countries in Europe including the United Kingdom, Brazil, South Africa, Botswana, Ghana, China, New Zealand, Mauritius, Zimbabwe, Tanzania, Israel, and Hong Kong.

This move comes as Omicron has been reported in 57 countries, and the World Health Organization (WHO) expects the number to continue growing.

As per the latest government travel guidelines, passengers travelling from the said countries are required to undergo an RT-PCR test on arrival in India, and will be further required to wait for the test results in the airport. The travellers would also need to follow additional measures on arrival in the country.

The additional measures include seven days of home quarantine, which will be further followed up by an RT-PCR test on the eighth day.

However, those arriving from ‘at no risk’ countries, can proceed forward quarantine-free within India, but will need to self-monitor their health for 14 days.

Reports have it that a random sample of 2 per cent of passengers travelling from Singapore will be required to undergo RT-PCR testing on arrival at Indian airports.

Singapore Airlines (SIA) restarted passenger services from 8 cities in India, including daily Vaccinated Travel Lane (VTL) services from Chennai, Delhi, and Mumbai from November 29, providing eligible customers with quarantine-free entry into Singapore.

Leave a Comment