Kerala Announces New Quarantine Rules For International Travellers

In a recent development, the Kerala government has announced new quarantine rules for international travellers. The announcement was made by the Health Minister Veena George wherein he said that starting Monday, travellers visiting Kerala from the UK will have to undergo a mandatory 10-day quarantine at home or destination address. The new rules are on the basis of Union Health Ministry guidelines.

On the other hand, those coming from South Africa, Brazil and Europe will have to undergo a 7-day quarantine mandatorily on arrival. As per new rules, international passengers will have to take three PCR tests to enter Kerala, first, 72 hours before the journey, second upon arrival at an airport, and the third will be done eight days after arriving in the state.

The minister further informed that all travellers coming from foreign lands irrespective of their vaccination status will have to get RT-PCR tests done upon reaching the airports in the state. Also, people from other countries will have to self-monitor for 14 days if their result comes negative.

Not only this, the sample of passengers coming from the United Kingdom, China, Botswana, South Africa, Brazil, New Zealand, any of the European nations, Middle East countries, Bangladesh, Mauritius, and Zimbabwe will be further sent for virus mutation tests.

Apparently, the UK government had imposed a 10-day quarantine for Indians. In retaliation, the Indian government also decided to impose the same restrictions on the travellers coming from the UK.

Leave a Comment