Politics TOP NEWS UPDATES Uncategorized

BJP to form govt, CM to be from party, says Himanta Biswa Sarma

Assam Election Results 2021: The majority mark in Assam is 64. The BJP is looking to create history in the state by becoming the only non-Congress government to win consecutive terms. However, for the saffron party, this election was very different from the other states as Assam was the only place where it was fighting to retain power.

n Assam, the ruling BJP led NDA is surging ahead of the Grand Alliance spearheaded by the Congress in Assam, winning 2 seats and leading in 73 one of the 122 seats, trends available on the Election Commission website. Chief Minister Sarbananda Sonowal exuded confidence that the saffron party-led alliance will retain power in the state. Assam has a 126-member assembly and 64 seats are needed for a simple majority.

Counting of votes for the Assam assembly elections began at 8 am Sunday amid strict health protocols, as it is taking place amid a raging second wave of covid. A three-tier security apparatus has also been arranged at the 331 counting halls across the state that voted in three phases on March 27, April 1 and April 6.

The Grand Alliance spearheaded by the Congress is ahead in 42 places, according to the trends available in the Election Commission’s website. The BJP has won two seats and is leading in 54, and its partners – Asom Gana Parishad is ahead in 11 and United People’s Party, Liberal in eight constituencies. Congress candidates are leading in 28 seats, while its allies AIUDF in 14 and Bodoland People’s Front in two.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

error: Content is protected !!